Photo

Smallest / largest caliber to hunt big game with in CA?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 CHUCH2015

CHUCH2015

AR15 Hunter

• PipPipPipPip
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 June 2015 - 08:47 PM

Hi all. Newbie here with my first post but probally already answered/asked about. I found this forum through this article: http://ar15hunter.co...ornia-deer-ar15. I heard that we can't legally use .223 or 5.56 caliber to hunt deer or other CA big game? Anyone know the facts? All i could find on fish & game/wildlife website is: §353. Methods Authorized for Taking Big Game.(a) Except for the provisions of subsections 353(B) through (h), Title 14, CCR, big game (as defined by Section 350, Title 14, CCR) may only be taken by rifles using centerfire cartridges with softnose or expanding projectiles; bow and arrow (see Section 354, Title 14, CCR, for archery equipment regulations); or wheellock, matchlock, flintlock or percussion type, including "in-line" muzzleloading rifles using black powder or equivalent black powder substitute, including pellets, with a single projectile loaded from "projectile" is defined as any bullet, ball, sabot, slug, buckshot or other device which is expelled from a firearm through a barrel by force.(B) Shotguns capable of holding not more than three shells firing single slugs may be used for the taking of deer, bear and wild pigs. In areas where the discharge of rifles or shotguns with slugs is prohibited by county ordinance, shotguns capable of holding not more than three shells firing size 0 or 00 buckshot may be used for the taking of deer only.© Pistols and revolvers using centerfire cartridges with softnose or expanding projectiles may be used to take deer, bear, and wild pigs.(d) Pistols and revolvers with minimum barrel lengths of 4 inches, using centerfire cartridges with softnose or expanding projectiles may be used to take elk and bighorn sheep.(e) Except as provided in subsection 354(j), crossbows may be used to take deer an